Shrewsbury Holy Cross with St Giles, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Guide to Shrewsbury Holy Cross with St Giles, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Holy Cross with St. Giles is an ecclesiastical parish within the town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire, England.

Shrewsbury Holy Cross with St Giles, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shrewsbury Borough
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Shrewsbury Incorporation PLU
Registration District Shrewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541; Separate registers exist for Shrewsbury St Giles beginning 1825
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shrewsbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1848 the population of the parish of Holy Cross with St. Giles was 1742;[1]

Resources

Civil records

Church records

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office:

  • Bap 1630-1880
  • Marr 1630-1836
  • Bur 1630-1879
  • Burials for Shrewsbury Abbey included 1841-1844, 1847, 1848-1879

Shrewsbury Holy Cross with St Giles, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Shrewsbury Holy Cross with St Giles, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1540-1601, 1661-1875 1540-1837

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/ShrewsburyHolyCrossStGiles/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.93-104. Date accessed: 10 July 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 14:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,287 times.