Shrewsbury St Alkmund, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngShrewsbury - St. Alkmund

A guide to genealogy in the Shrewsbury parish of St. Alkmund, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; etc. St. Alkmund is an ecclesiastical parish within the town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire, England.

Shrewsbury St Alkmund, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Albrighton Division; Ford; Shrewsbury Borough
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Shrewsbury Incorporation PLU
Registration District Shrewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shrewsbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1848 the parish contained 1642 inhabitants. [1]

Resources

Civil records

Church records

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1630-1869 Marr 1630-1837 Bur 1630-1869

Shrewsbury St Alkmund, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Shrewsbury St Alkmund, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1559-1871 1559-1837

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.93-104. Date accessed: 10 July 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 18:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,294 times.