Shrewsbury St Chad, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Guide to Shrewsbury St Chad, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St. Chad is an ecclesiastical parish within the town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire, England. Address: St. Chad's Church, St. Chad's Terrace, Shrewsbury, SY1 1J

Shrewsbury St Chad, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Albrighton Division; Condover; Ford; Shrewsbury Borough
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Shrewsbury Incorporation PLU
Registration District Shrewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1616
Bishop's Transcripts: 1631
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shrewsbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1848 theparish contained 7625 inhabitants. [1]

Resources

Civil records

Church records

Shrewsbury St Chad parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available on-line for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[3][4][5][6]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
SHREWSBURY ST CHAD PARISH (1616) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1792-1812

BOYD
1610-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1616-1717
1616-1717
1616-1717
IARC 1717-1781
1717-1754
1717-1781
IGI 1616-1868 1616-1678, 1813-1838
JOIN
1617-1754

MLOC 1616-1717
1616-1717
1616-1717]
MLOC 1717-1781
1717-1754
1717-1781]
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1631-1868, 1879 Marr 1631-1837 Bur 1631-1855,1868.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/ShrewsburyStChad/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.93-104. Date accessed: 10 July 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  8. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 14:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,999 times.