Shrewsbury St George, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngShrewsbury - St. George

A guide to genealogy in the Shrewsbury parish of St. George, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; etc. St. George is an ecclesiastical parish within the town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire, England.

Shrewsbury St George, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Albrighton Division; Ford; Shrewsbury Borough
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Shrewsbury Incorporation PLU
Registration District Shrewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shrewsbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHREWSBURY, a borough and market - town, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the liberties of Shrewsbury, N. division of Salop, of which it is the chief town, 154 miles (N. W.) from London.[1]

Resources

Civil records

Church records

Shrewsbury St George, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
Shrewsbury St George, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1837-1865 Marr 1837 Bur none

Census records

Probate records

Atlases & Gazetteers

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 93-104. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 22:50.
  • This page has been accessed 657 times.