Shropshire Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.png Church Records

The Parish Chest.jpg

Contents

Parish Registers

Images of Shropshire's parish registers are available online at FindMyPast.

A guide published in 1902 (available online) details records that survive parish-by-parish in Shropshire.

Internet Archive and Mel Lockie website (both free) include transcripts of many of Shropshire's parish registers.

Baptisms

36,339 Shropshire entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

Marriages

74% of Shropshire's parishes are indexed in Joiner's Marriage Index (£).[2] Coverage.

55% of Shropshire's parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage. Popular places to marry included the towns of Ludlow, Oswestry, and the Church of St Chad in Shrewsbury.[3]

10,566 Shropshire entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[4]

Parish Chest

Shropshire Parish Chest records available at the Family History Library (FHL)

See Wiki articles on Parish Chest records or English Poor Law pre-1834 for more information on what they are and what type of valuable information they contain.

These microfilms can be ordered through FamilySearch and delivered to a FamilySearch Center near your home.  

PARISH YEARS
Albrighton 1608-1866; 1663-1861
Adderley 1750-1888
Alberbury 1623-1861
Alveley 1535-1861
Ashford-Carbonell 1836-1927
Astley 1729-1863
Aston-Botterell 1807-1874
Atcham 1678-1925
Badger 1679-1850
Barrow 1848-1861
Baschurch 1687-1945
Beckbury 1744-1818; 1744-1902
Benthall 1848-1861
Berrington 1793-1861
Bishop's Castle 1728-1876
Bolas-Magna 1698-1854
Brace-Meole 1677-1868
Bridgnorth St. Leonard 1629-1896
Bridgnorth St. Michael's 1642-1879
Bridgnorth St. Mary Magdalene 1830-1861
Bromfield 1616-1853
Broseley 1848-1861
Buildwas 1848-1861
Burford 1756-1884
Cardeston 1715-1911
Cardington 1621-1861
Chelmarsh 1720-1861
Chetton 1599-1861
Childs-Ercall 1701-1878
Church Pulverbatch 1853-1966
Clee-St. Margaret 1756-1930
Cleobury-Mortimer 1690-1861
Clungunford 1608-1769
Condover 1577-1896
Coreley 1797-1871
Cound 1625-1861
Dawley Magna 1810-1854; 1848-1861
Diddlebury 1721-1879
Duddleston 1728-1861
Eaton-Constantine 1837-1848
Eaton-under-Heywood 1816-1872
Edgmond 1650-1857
Edstaston 1850-1861
Ellesmere 1685-1887
Ercall Magna 1685-1880
Ford 1724-1861
Habberley 1702-1809
Hadnall 1803-1861
Halford 1795-1861
Harley 1700-1893
Hodnet 1627-1904
Ightfield 1738-1861
Ironbridge 1848-1861
Kinlet 1713-1861
Kinnerley 1683-1861
Knockin 1845-1861
Lee-Brockhurst 1798-1855
Leighton 1798-1873
Linley 1848-1861
Little Wenlock 1654-1894; 1848-1861
Longdon-upon-Tern 1766-1874
Loppington 1710-1877
Ludlow 1464-1850
Madeley 1641-1861; 1848-1861
Mainstone 1685-1852
Market Drayton 1836-1867
Melverley 1726, 1742, 1757
Middle 1671-1920
Moreton Say 1695-1861
Much Wenlock 1848-1861
Munslow 1661-1709
Neen-Savage 1710-1864
Neenton 1820-1886; 1840-1862
Oswestry 1813-1861
Preston-on-the-Weald-Moors 1727-1891
Pitchford 1699-1782
Posenhall 1848-1861
Quatt 1670-1864
Rodington 1789-1890
Ryton 1687-1908; 1698-1837
Shrewsbury 1637-1791
Shrewsbury Holy Cross 1565-1861
Shrewsbury St. Alkmond's 1580-1914
Shrewsbury St. Chad's 1723-1868
Shrewsbury St. Julian's 1648-1824
Shrewsbury St. Mary's 1544-1912
Sidbury 1795-1861
St. Martin's 1751-1921
Stirchley 1725-1885; 1848-1861
Stockton 1590-1911
Stokesay 1663-1876
Sutton-Maddock 1668-1834
Tong 1630-1892
Uffington 1750-1855
Wem 1683-1926
Westbury 1659-1856
Wheathill 1797-1900
Whitchurch 1619-1864
Willey 1848-1861
Withington 1776-1872
Wollaston 1722-1848
Wrockwardine 1668-1901
Wroxeter 1683-1921

Additional Parish Chest records at the FHL

Shropshire Removal Orders 17th-19th centuries 942.45 W2s
Shropshire Settlement Certificates 942.45 N2s
Shropshire to Birmingham Settlement Certificates 1686-1757 942.45 D25s v. 11 pt. 3
Some Shropshire settlement examinations an alphabetical abstract 942.45 P3s

Nonconformists

  • Shropshire Parish Registers: Nonconformist and Roman Catholic Registers. 1922. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of the Joiner Marriage Index', The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  4. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 16:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,895 times.