Shute, DevonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Shute, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Axminster PLU|
|Parish registers: 1561; For more records see Colyton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1613|
|Probate Court||A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
SHUTE (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Axminster, hundred of Colyton, Honiton and S. divisions of Devon, 2 miles (N.) from Colyton. The church contains a memorial of Charles Bickford Templer, Esq., who was lost in the wreck of the Halsewell East Indiaman, in 1786.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241307.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2014, at 15:18.
- This page has been accessed 423 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki