Shuttleworth, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Shuttleworth, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shuttleworth, Lancashire
Shuttleworth, St John's Church.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bury PLU
Registration District Bury
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prestwich
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

SHUTTLEWORTH, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parish and poor-law union of Bury, hundred of Salford, Southern division of Lancashire, 3½ miles (N.)from Bury. It lies on the road from Bury to Haslingden and Burnley. There is a place of worship for Independents,called Park Chapel, with a small endowment and a house for the minister; also a place of worship for Wesleyans, called Patmos Chapel. [1]

The name Shuttleworth is believed to derive from Sceot-hulls-worth, implying an Anglo-Saxon "dwelling-place by the Scout hills". The prefix is sceotan, Old English for "shot", and the suffix -worth (also Old English) means "enclosure". During the Middle Ages, Shuttleworth lay within the township of Walmersley (sometimes called Walmersley-cum-Shuttleworth), parish of Bury, and hundred of Salford.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Shuttleworth chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WALMERSLEY CUM SHUTTLEWORTH CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry  (1785) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1785-1812, 1838-1842, 1860-1864 1785-1812 1785-1812, 1838-1841, 1858
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1898 1852-1900 1837-1877
BURY ST MARY PARISH (1590) Indexes (ancient parish containing SHUTTLEWORTH Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1590-1909 1591-1935 1785-1976
LOPC 1699-1844 1591-1849, 1860-1861 1699-1728, 1739-1748, 1759-1837
LBMD None 1837-1900 None
FMP None 1598-1760 None
AC 1590-1698 1590-1698 1590-1698
FREG 1590-1698, 1817-1846 1591-1646 1591-1699


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Shuttleworth and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BURY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306924.


Poor Law Unions

Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53015 British History online Shuttleworth

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 93-104. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,679 times.