Sibertswold, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Shepherdswell aka Sibertswold, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sibertswold, Kent
Sheperdswell (Sibertswold) St Andrew Kent.jpg
Sheperdswell (Sibertswold) St Andrew Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Shepherdswell is a village in the Dover district and is within the civil parish of Shepherdswell with Coldred. See Shepherdswell Wikipedia Coldred is a rural settlement which includes the adjacent Ecclesiastical parish Coldred, Kent within the civil parish.

Shepherdswell (or Sibertswold) St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; village and civil parish of Shepherdswell six miles north west of Dover. A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The present church of St Andrew's is the fourth to occupy the site; the first church mentioned in the Domesday Survey. the present church was built in 1860.

The Church of St Andrew, Coldred Road, Shepherdswell has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Kent Churches website

The village is part of the former Kent coalfield and the East Kent Railway was built to transport coal to port.

The Methodist church in the village opened in 1870 and closed in 1995. St Andrew's is now used by both Anglican and Methodist congragations.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sibertswold, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4][5][6]
Sibertswold, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1563-1909 1563-1909 1563-1837; 1754-1953 (Banns)
1564-1946 1564-1812

Land Tax

Images for Sibbertswold are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306865.


Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

SIBBERTSWOLD (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Dovor, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 6¼ miles (N. W.) from Dovor. [7]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  7. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-107. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,994 times.