Sibthorpe, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Sibthorpe, Nottinghamshire
Sibthorpe St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Sibthorpe St Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1720
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

SIBTHORPE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 6¾ miles (S. S. W.) from Newark. Thomas de Sibthorpe founded a chantry in the church, and subsequently erected it into a college for a warden, nine chaplains, three clerks, and four choristers; he also added four chapels, in honour of St. Anne, St. Katharine, St. Margaret, and St. Mary.[1]

Additional information:

Sibthorpe St Peter is an Ancinet Parish in the Rushcliffe district of Nottinghamshire.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project has researched the parish history Southwell St Peter

The parish church of St Peter has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Sibthorpe Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sibthorpe St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SIBTHORPE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1720-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1720- 1903 Marriages 1721-1901 Burials 1721-1904 Bishop's Transcripts 1613-1853
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sibthorpe

Sibthorpe - St. Peter's.  A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions inside, and outside the church, dating from 1777, listing surname, given name, date of death, and age at death.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 63, pages 33-34. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.
See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 15:22.
  • This page has been accessed 584 times.