Sidcup St John, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Sidcup, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sidcup St John, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ruxley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bromley PLU
Registration District Bromley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1882
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - None
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sidcup is a district partly in the London Borough of Bexley and partly in the London Borough of Greenwich. See Sidcup Wikipedia for current places of worship in the district.

Sidcup St John was created as an Ecclesiastical Parish in 1843 and was formed from part of Foots Cray, Kent and Chislehurst, Kent

The parish church of St John the Evangelist has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Kent Churches website

See Sidcup North West Kent Family History Society and Sidcup St John the Evangelist

Sidcup St Andrew was built in 1964 see Kent Churches website

Other Sidcup parishes include:

Emmanuel Mission Church built 1887-1888 Church websiteand Kent Churches website

Sidcup Christ Church built 1900-1901 Sidcup Christ Church Church websiteand Kent Churches website

Lamorbey The Holy Redeemer (Anglican) dates from 1933 A Church near You ( with Good Shepherd)

Lamorbey Holy Trinity Hurst Road Church website

See also

Days Lane Baptist Church

Foots Cray Baptist Church Sidcup Hill

Our Lady of the Rosary (Roman Catholic) BlackFen



Resources

Civil Registration

See Sidcup Registration District

Bromley Registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sidcup St John, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Sidcup St John, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1882-1902 1882-1902 1882-1902
FS PRs 1844-1876 1845-1875 1844-1876
IGI 1844-1875 1845-1876

Bexley Local Studies and Archive Centre is the Diocesan Record Office for all the Church of England Parishes within the London Borough of Bexley. Reference PA101B St John's, Sidcup 1841-1997

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306874.

See Kent Census



Poor Law Unions

Bromley Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

SIDCUP, a hamlet, in the parish of Foot's-Cray, union of Bromley, hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 3½ miles (S. E.) from Eltham, in the neighbourhood of St. John's church. [4]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough and adjacent Sidcup.

Websites

References

  1. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-107. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,192 times.