Siddington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Siddington

Guide to Siddington, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

SIDDINGTON, a township-chapelry in Prestbury parish, Cheshire; 3½ miles SE of Chelford railway station, and 5 SW of Macclesfield. It has a post-office under Congleton. The church was restored in 1850.[1]

Siddington All Saints is the parish church for Capesthorne with Siddington and is a former township of Prestbury Ancient parish.

It is believed that the church was founded in the 14th century but the first documentary evidence dates from 1474, when the church was mentioned in the will of Robert Sydington as a chapel of ease for Prestbury. The church is near Thorneycroft Hall and in 1722. In 1550, it was recorded that the vicar of Prestbury let his corn tithes in Siddington to Edward Fitton.

There are records of a chapel at Siddington in 1337 and in 1474 which was consecrated for preaching in 1521.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241241.

Church records

Siddington All Saints registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Siddington All Saints Parish (1722) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1846


BOYD
1722-1800

FS PR's 1724-1895
  NONE
1722-1783
  NONE
1722-1877
  NONE
FS BT'S 1835-1863
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1835-1863
  NONE
FMP


1722-1874
1722-1874
JOIN
1722-1783

NBI

1722-1874
TGEN
1722-1783

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Siddington.
Siddington, All Saints (C of E). A chapelry to Prestbury from 1722 serving Siddington township; a joint parish with Capesthorne since 1846. Registers of Baptisms 1718–1895, Marriages 1722–1754, 1783–1784, 1965–1968 and Burials 1724–1874 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call numbers: P241/1-3.
Siddington and Capesthorne are chapelries in the parish of Prestbury.

Parish Register Content FHL Films
Marriages, 1718-1812. Baptisms, 1718-1895. Burials, 1718-1874. BRITISH 2104766 Items 10 - 13
Marriages, 1718-1812. Baptisms, 1718-1895. Burials, 1718-1874. BRITISH 1656602 Items 3 - 6

Bishop's transcripts for Siddington and Capesthorne, 1722-1863

Includes joint registers with the Chapelry of Capesthorne, 1850-1860.Chapelry in Prestbury parish.
Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 186

Bishop's transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1722, 1727-1728, 1734, 1755-1834. Baptisms, burials, marriages, 1723-1726, 1729-1732, 1735-1736, 1738-1742, 1746-1751, 1754. Baptisms, 1835. BRITISH 1647670 Item 7
Baptisms, burials, 1835-1863. BRITISH 1647671 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Siddington, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1865.

Non-Conformist Records:

Records are at Chester Record Office call number EMS 290 Collection  Siddington Chapel 1865-1979

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •   Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  •  Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 April 2014, at 15:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,361 times.