Sidlesham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Sidlesham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sidlesham, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manhood
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SIDLESHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Manhood, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 4 miles (S.) from Chichester. The parish is situated on the road from Chichester to Selsey, and bounded on the south by Pagham harbor. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Sidlesham is a village and civil parish on the Manhood peninsula 3 miles south of the cathedral city of Chichester in West Sussex Sidlesham Wikipedia

Sidlesham St Mary is an Ancient parish which included Almodington and is an extensive largely rural parish

The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Sidlesham St Mary Our Lady

The Parish Church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed Building British listed building

Sidlesham Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

Sidlesham Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Sidlesham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Sidlesham, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1662-1775

IGI 1566-1876 1567-1875
PRTS 1566-1901 (gaps)
1567-1900 (gaps)
1566-1901 (gaps)
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sidlesham

Parish records contain the first documentary record of cricket in Sussex; in 1611 two parishioners were absent from church on Easter Sunday and were fined and made to do penance for playing cricket.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

See Sussex Census


Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Protestation Returns

There are 118 1641 protestation returns for this parish in the database Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Sidlesham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-107. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,731 times.