Sidmouth, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sidmouth, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Honiton|
|Parish registers: 1586|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
SIDMOUTH (St. Nicholas), a sea-port, markettown, and parish, in the union of Honiton, hundred of East Budleigh, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon, 13½ miles (E. S. E.) from Exeter. A handsome church dedicated to All Saints, was consecrated May 7th, 1840. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians. The remains still exist of a building which tradition affirms to have been a chapel of ease at a period when Sidmouth belonged to the parish of Otterton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sidmouth, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Sidmouth, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Plymouth Brethren
- Presbyterian Unitarian
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241304.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Sidmouth on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 01:46.
- This page has been accessed 2,329 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News