Seghill, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sighill, Northumberland)

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Seghill, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Seghill, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Tynemouth PLU
Registration District Tynemouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SIGHILL, an ecclesiastical district or parish, in the parish of Earsdon, union of Tynemouth, E. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 3 miles (W. N. W.) from the village of Earsdon; There are places of worship for Methodists and Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

Seghill Holy Trinity (formerly spelt Sighill in some documents) became a parish in 1846 from Earsdon Ecclesiastical Parish and Cramlington Ecclesiastical Parish.

Building to a design by Benjamin and John Green, architects of a number of important buildings in Newcastle during the Grainger/Dobson era, although Holy Trinity has no special features. Notable ministry from the Reverend Charles Osborne, D.D. over the turn of the century. He was a disciple of the Tractarians and in consequence was persecuted by the Ecclesiastical Commission on Discipline. (Osborne was the author of recognised works on Pastoralia for the clergy, and a biographer of some of the Tractarians disciples.)

Broadly Catholic tradition. Extentions in 1981. [The Newcastle Diocesan Gazetteer (1982) page 23.]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/223 Date: 1850-1877  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Seghill, Holy Trinity: Records of baptisms 1846-1955, marriages 1849-1980 and burials 1849-1966 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Microfilm copies of burials for the period 1896-1949 can be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438885.

Poor Law Unions

Tynemouth Poor Law Union,Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 11 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,162 times.