Silkstone, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Silkstone

Silkstone, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Penistone PLU
Registration District Huddersfield; Wakefield; Wortley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1558.

SILKSTONE (All Saints), a parish, in the wapentake of Staincross, W. riding of York; containing,with the town of Barnsley, the chapelry of Cawthorne, the townships of Dodworth, Hoyland-Swaine, Stainbrough, and Thurgoland, and parts of West Brettonand Cumberworth, 19,820 inhabitants, of whom 1076 are in Silkstone township, 4 miles (S. W.) from Barnsley.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online data content from parish registers of Silkstone exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
SILKSTONE PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
FS 1558-1859
1558-1925
1812-1920
JOIN None

1813-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Silkstone to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Silkstone page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464275.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemeteries

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 107-110. Date accessed: 17 October 2013.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:16.
  • This page has been accessed 2,304 times.