Silsden, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Silsden)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png West RidingGotoarrow.png Silsden

Guide to Silsden, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Silsden, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Carlton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Keighley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1768
Bishop's Transcripts: 1734
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Silsden
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SILSDEN, a chapelry, in the parish of Kildwick, union of Keighley, E. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. by W.) from Keighley. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Silsden exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SILSDEN CHAPELRY (1644) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1753-1812 1753-1812 1753-1812 1753-1812 1753-1812 1753-1812
BIVRI 1718-1738 (gaps)


FREG 1769-1837 1777 1769-1737
FS 1644-1898
1753-1756, 1777, 1847
1760-1791
JOIN None

None
None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding SILSDEN and comprising the whole ancient parish of KILDWICK to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KILDWICK parish page.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464271.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 107-110. Date accessed: 17 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 20:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,882 times.