Silver Bow County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Silver Bow County
Guide to Silver Bow County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Silver Bow County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 16, 1881 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Butte |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Silver Bow County Courthouse 155 W Granite Street Butte, MT 59701 Phone: 406.723.8262 Silver Bow County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk and recorder have birth and death records from 1890,
land records from 1881 and military discharge records from 1932;
Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[1]
History
Parent County
1881--Silver Bow County was created 16 February 1881 from Deer Lodge County. Land was again added from from Deer Lodge in 1917. County seat: Butte [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Butte | Rocker |
| Melrose | Silver Bow |
| Ramsay | Walkerville |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Butte Dist
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- See an interactive map of Silver Bow County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
Military
Newspapers
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Butte and Helena newspapers. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
For marriages from 1881-1914 see Western States Marriage Index.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 418.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Montana-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 April 2013, at 02:03.
- This page has been accessed 1,910 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
