Silverdale, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Silverdale, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Silverdale, Lancashire
Silverdale St John.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1822
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

SILVERDALE, St John, an ancient chapel, in the parish of Warton, union of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 3¾ miles northwest of Yealand-Conyers. This chapelry is situated on Morecambe bay. The chapel, erected in 1679, was rebuilt in 1829. The Methodist church was also built in the 19th century. Silverdale is within the Anglican Diocese of Blackburn, the Catholic Diocese of Lancaster and the Lancaster Methodist Circuit.[1]

The Victorian novelist Elizabeth Gaskell (1810–1865) regularly holidayed in Silverdale and is said to have written some of her works in Lindeth Tower in the village; the Gaskell Memorial Hall in the centre of the village is named after her. The English poet Gordon Bottomley (1874–1948) lived in Silverdale in later life.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Silverdale chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Warton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


SILVERDALE ST JOHN Chapelry  (1871) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1855-1897 None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1871-1989 None
WARTON ST OSWALD PARISH (1568) Indexes (ancient parish containing SILVERDALE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1568-1903 1570-1838 None
LOPC 1568-1924 1569-1647, 1653-1903 1568-1920
LBMD 1837-1919 1837-1988 1837-1919
FMP None 1571-1837 None
AC 1568-1812 1568-1812 1568-1812
FREG 1871-1903 1824-1845 1813-1900, 1914-1920


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Silverdale and comprising the whole ancient parish of Warton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WARTON PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53292 British History online

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 107-110. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,752 times.