SingaporeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Asia Gotoarrow.png Singapore

Guide to Singapore ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Coat of arms of Singapore
Flag of Singapore
Map of Singapore and Region
This strategic island called Singapore was first inhabited by regional fishermen and pirates, and later become part of the Sumatran Empire of Srivijaya. European control of the Malaysian area began in the 16th century, and in 1819, Singapore was founded as a British trading colony, and was once the site of one of Britain's most important naval bases. Upon the dissolution of the British Empire, Malaysia itself was formed in 1963 when Singapore and the states of Sabah and Sarawak joined the Peninsular Malaysia Federation. Later Singapore chose to leave the Peninsular Malaysia Federation and became a separate nation. Prime Minister Lee Kwan Yue became the first Minister, and guided the island nation to its present preeminence in South East Asia.


Singapore is the second most densely populated country in the world, after Monaco.

Singapore is a multiracial and multicultural country with a majority population of Chinese (74.2% of the resident population), with substantial Malay (13.2%) and Indian minorities (9.2%).[2] The Malays are recognized as the indigenous community although most are the descendants of post-1945 immigrants from Indonesia and Malaysia.


Getting started with Singapore research

The official government website for vital statistics follows: https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/statistics/Health_Facts_Singapore/Population_And_Vital_Statistics.html

Jurisdictions

(Your text or images here)

Research Tools

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 November 2014, at 02:21.
  • This page has been accessed 3,582 times.