Singleton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Singleton, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Singleton, Lancashire
St. Anne's. Singleton Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Fylde PLU
Registration District Fylde
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

SINGLETON-in-the-Fylde, a chapelry, in the parish of Kirkham, union of the Fylde, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 3miles (E. by S.) from Poulton; consisting of Great and Little Singleton. There is a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]


The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Singleton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Kirkham to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


GREAT & LITTLE SINGLETON Chapelry (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  None
LOPC 1841-1900 1851-1900 1841-1900
LBMD  None None None
KIRKHAM ST MICHAEL'S PARISH (1539) Indexes (ancient parish containing SINGLETON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1540-1653; 1868-1896 1539-1653;1868-1874  None
LOPC 1678-1932 1539-1653;1678-1875 1678-1775; 1834-1932
FMP  None 1539-1837 None
LBMD 1837-1974 1837-2010 1837-1975
AC 1539-1653 1539-1653 1539-1653


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Singleton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirkham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRKHAM PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306886.


Poor Law Unions

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Bibliography

  • Hartwell, Clare; Pevsner, Nikolaus (2009) [1969], Lancashire: North, New Haven and London: Yale University Press, ISBN 0300126670  Singleton p. 613


Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-113. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 3,113 times.