Sioux County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sioux County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sioux County, Iowa|
Location in the state of Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
|Founded||January 15, 1851|
|County Seat||Orange City|
1851--Sioux County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Woodbury County prior to organization 1 January 1860. County seat: Orange City 
For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
- Records of the St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Hull, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Sioux County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.
- 1885, 1912-1913, 1916-1961, and 1963-1971 — Alton Democrat at Ancestry.com ($) — Alton, Iowa, United States Of America
- 1897-1943, 1947-1954, and 1956-1961 — Boyden Reporter at Ancestry.com ($) — Boyden, Iowa, United States Of America
- 1935-1952. 1959-1967, and 1969-1970 — Sioux County Capital at Ancestry.com ($) — Orange City, Iowa
- 1896-1900, 1902-1903, 1930-1955, 1957-1958, 1961-1966, and 1969-1971 — Sioux Center News at Ancestry.com ($) — Sioux Center, Iowa
- 1913-1941, 1943-1948, 1953, 1955, and 1957-1967 — Sioux County Index at Ancestry.com ($) — Hull, Iowa, United States Of America
- 1951-67 — The Hawarden Independent at Ancestry.com ($) — Hawarden, IA, USA
- 1911-1912, 1915, 1917, 1920, 1927, 1928-1931, 1933, 1935-1937, and 1941-1942 — Ireton Ledger at Ancestry.com ($) — Ireton, Iowa, United States Of America
- 1899-1918 — Bayard Advocate at Ancestry.com ($) — Bayard, Iowa, United States Of America
- 1908, 1911, 1913-1916, 1920, 1922-1923, 1933, 1938, and 1941 — Hospers Tribune at Ancestry.com ($) — Hospers, Iowa, United States Of America
- 1968-71 — The Independent at Ancestry.com ($) — Hawarden, IA, USA
- 1916-1920, 1924, and 1928-1929 — Maurice Times at Ancestry.com ($) — Maurice, Iowa, United States Of America
- 1954 — The Sheldon Mail at Ancestry.com ($) — Sheldon, IA, USA
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Sioux - Probate records.
Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..
Societies and Libraries
See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Sioux County, IA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Iowa Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Iowa Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Sioux County, Iowa Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:19.
- This page has been accessed 6,239 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News