Siskiyou County, California GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Siskiyou County, California)

United States go to California go to Siskiyou County

Guide to Siskiyou County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Siskiyou County, California
Dates for major county records 
1852-present 1873-present 1852-present 1852-present 1852-present
For earlier dates, try...
  • Parent county: Shasta and Klamath counties
Remember these collections


Siskiyou County, California
Map of California highlighting Siskiyou County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Founded March 22, 1852
County Seat Yreka
Named for: the Siskiyou mountain range


County Courthouse

Siskiyou County Courthouse
311 Fourth Street
PO Box 338
Yreka, CA 96097
Phone: 530.842.8084 

County Reader has birth, marriage, death and burial records
Court Services has divorce, probate and court records from 1852;
County Cleark has election records, board of supervisor’s minutes from 1860[1]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia has more about this subject: Siskiyou County, California

Parent Counties

22 March 1852: Siskiyou County was created from Shasta and former Klamath Counties. County seat: Yreka [2]

Boundary Changes

1852: County formed from Shasta and Klamath Counties.

1874: February, part of county given to newly formed Modoc County.

1874: May, Klamath County dissolved with Siskiyou County absorbing some of the area.

1887: Land exchanged with Del Norte County.

1901: Small area of land gained from Humboldt County.

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the website.

Records Loss

Town of Deadwood known to have burned down in 1861.

Town of Klamathon known to have burned down in 1902.

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places (over 5,000 people)


Populated Places (over 1,000 people)

Dunsmuir, Montague, Mount Shasta City, Tulelake, Weed

Populated Places (under 1,000 people)

Dorris, Etna, Fort Jones

Census Designated Places and Unincorporated Communities

Big Springs, Callahan, Carrick, Clear Creek, Edgewood, Forks of Salmon, Fort Goff, Gazelle, Greenview, Grenada, Hamburg, Hatfield, Happy Camp, Hilt, Hornbrook, Horse Creek, Klamath River, Klamathon, Lake Shastina, Lake Siskiyou, Macdoel, McCloud, Mount Hebron, Mugginsville, Sawyers Bar, Seiad Valley, Tennant, Thompson Creek

Additional and Former Populated Places

Mount Shasta City has had a number of names including Wagon Valley, Strawberry Valley and, until 1924, Sisson. Ager, Bartle, Beswick, Black Bear, Bogus, Butte, Cecilville, Chestnut, Coles, Copco, Cottage Grove, Deadwood, Francis, Gottsville, Hooperville, Igerha, Liberty, Little Shasta, Mott, Mountain, Oak Bar, Oro Fino, Schlitz, Scott Bar, Scott River, Scott Valley, Shasta Springs, Snowden, Somes Bar, Squaw Valley, Table Rock, Tailholt, Upper Soda Springs, Walker

Neighboring Counties


Bible Records



Siskiyou Cemeteries Central

Siskiyou Cemeteries at  Find A Grave

Dunsmuir Cemetery, Dunsmuir BillionGraves


For tips on accessing Siskiyou County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Etna

FamilySearch Catalog

California, Siskiyou Films

California, Siskiyou, Cecilville

California, Siskiyou, Dunsmuir

California, Siskiyou, Etna

California, Siskiyou, Forks of the Salmon

California, Siskiyou, Fort Jones

California, Siskiyou, Greenview Township

California, Siskiyou, Henley

California, Siskiyou, Hilt

California, Siskiyou, McCloud

California, Siskiyou, Montague

California, Siskiyou, Sawyers Bar

California, Siskiyou, Scott Valley Township

California, Siskiyou, Weed

California, Siskiyou, Yreka

Court Records

Crime and Criminals


Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups





Local histories are available for Siskiyou County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.



Early migration routes to and from Siskiyou County, California Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:[3][4] :

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Siskiyou County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Siskiyou County, California Genealogy:

- 1st Battalion Mountaineers, California Infantry (Union), Company F
- 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company A

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Siskiyou County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:



Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Siskiyou - Probate records.


Archives, Libraries and Museums

Siskiyou County Library
719 4th Street
Yreka, CA 96097
Searchable Siskiyou Pioneer Index
Searchable Siskiyou County Obituaries (1854-1990) Index
Searchable Siskiyou County Newspaper Index A Digital Library of Primary Sources in Siskiyou County History

County Courthouse

Siskiyou County Assesor-Recorder
311 4th Street, Room 108
Yreka, CA 96097
Siskiyou County Clerk's Office
510 North Main Street
Yreka, CA 96097

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.


The Genealogical Society of Siskiyou County, California
912 S. Main St. Yreka, CA 96097
Phone: 530-842-0277
Email address:
GSSC Website

Scott Valley Genealogical Group
P.O. Box 623
Etna, CA 96027
Scott Valley Genealogical Group

Siskiyou County Genealogical Society
PO Box 225
Yreka, CA 96097

Siskiyou County Historical Society
910 South Main
Yreka, CA 96097


California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records





Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Siskiyou County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at (accessed 5 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at (accessed 5 August 2012).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2015, at 20:29.
  • This page has been accessed 10,141 times.