Sissinghurst, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Sissinghurst, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sissinghurst, Kent
Sissinghurst Trinity Church Kent.jpg
Sissinghurst Trinity Church Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cranbrooke
County Kent
Poor Law Union Cranbrook PLU
Registration District Cranbrook
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Charing
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sissinghurst (Trinity Church) is an Ecclesiastical parish in the Diocese of Canterbury created in 1837/1838 from Cranbrook, Kent Ancient Parish. it was originally a chapelry, with Milkhouse-Street hamlet, in Cranbrook parish, Kent; 2 miles NE of Cranbrook, and 4¾ S by E of Staplehurst railway station.[1]

Sissinghurst Castle Gardens are internationally famous and were created in the 1930's by Vita Sackville-West and her husband Harold Nicholson.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Cranbrook registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film numbers
Sissinghurst

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306867.




Poor Law Unions

Cranbrook Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

SISSINGHURST, a chapelry, with Milkhouse-Street hamlet, in Cranbrook parish, Kent, 2 miles NE of Cranbrook, and 4¾ S by E of Staplehurst r. station. [2]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Published in 1870-72.
  2. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,301 times.