Sittingbourne, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Sittingbourne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sittingbourne, Kent
Sittingbourne St Michael Kent.jpg
Sittingbourne St Michael Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Milton
County Kent
Poor Law Union Milton PLU
Registration District Milton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sittingbourne is a former market town now an industrial town in the Swale district of Kent, see Sittingbourne Wikipedia

Sittingbourne St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you which also shows the subsequent church development in an expanding residential development of the town.

The church originated in the 11th century with subsequent additions in the 13th 14th and 15th centuries. In 1762 a serious fire damaged the church and it was restored by George Dance Senior. Further restoration took place in 1859 and again in 1887.

The church is designated a grade II* listed building by English HeritageBritish listed building see Kent Churches website

Sittingbourne Holy Trinity church has been designated as a grade II listed buildingBritish listed building.See Kent Churches website

From the Ancient parish ecclesiastical Parishes of Sittingbourne Holy Trinity (1867) was formed and the rebuilt Murston, Kent All Saints Church Street (1873-1874).The Church of All Saints Murston has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 150-163. Date accessed: 21 October 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

SITTINGBOURNE (St. Michael), a parish, and formerly a corporate and market town, in the union and hundred of Milton, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 10 miles (E, N. E.) from Maidstone. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sittingbourne, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Sittingbourne, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1562-1893
1563-1902
1562-1922
FS PRs 1561-1715, 1750-1893 1561-1715, 1750-1886; 1754-1809 (banns) 1561-1775, 1813-1834

Land Tax

Images for Sittingbourne available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census retruns for Sittingbourne 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 110-113. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 November 2014, at 02:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,899 times.