Skagway Borough, AlaskaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Alaska Gotoarrow.png Skagway Borough

Guide to Skagway Borough Alaska genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alaska
Online Records


Skagway Borough, Alaska
Map
Map of Alaska highlighting Skagway Borough
Location in the state of Alaska
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Akskagway-hoonah-angoon.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden name; and death date.

For general information about Alaska denominations, see the Alaska Church Records wiki page.

The Family History Library also has copies of many Alaskan church records. To find a list in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for Alaska, the borough, or the town.

Court

Land

The first general land office was established at Sitka, Alaska in 1885. Records of subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, are filed at the office of the district recorder in each judicial district. The Family History Library has not acquired copies of Alaskan land records.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Skagway Borough, Alaska. Borough histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alaska Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Skagway Borough, Alaska newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, college or university libraries, or the Library of Congress.

For more Alaska newspaper information, see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Alaska Newspapers.

Probate

Probate records of Alaska were kept by the district courts prior to statehood. The superior court now has jurisdiction over probate matters. They are available at the archives and offices mentioned in Alaska Court Records. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Alaska.

An index with about 17,000 probate cases from the district court system from 1884 to 1960 is available online. It is arranged alphabetically. See Alaska Probate Records Index.

Taxation

Alaska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. The Family History Library has not filmed Alaska tax records.

Real and personal property tax records are kept at the borough's Assessors office.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Vital Statistics. This office has birth, death and marriage records since 1890's, though, many before 1930 were not registered with the Bureau. It also has divorce records since 1950. For more information, including how to find earlier records, check Alaska Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries

Web Sites

References

{{NavboxfckLR|name = AlaskafckLR|state = autocollapsefckLR|style = width: 100%;fckLR|title = Links to Alaska-related articlesfckLR|titlestyle = text-align: center; fckLR|basestyle = background: #EEEEEE; fckLR|groupstyle = font-size: 85%; padding:0.22em 0; line-height:1.3em;fckLR|liststyle = background: #f3f3f3; font-size: 85%; padding:0.22em 0; line-height:1.3em;fckLRfckLR|group1 = Topics fckLR|list1 = <div>fckLR American Indians · Archives and Libraries · [[Alaska Bible Records · Biography · Cemeteries · Census · Church Records · Court Records · Directories · Emigration and Immigration · Gazetteers · Genealogy · History · Land and Property · Maps · Military Records · Naturalization and Citizenship · Newspapers · Online Records · Periodicals · Probate Records · Societies · Vital Records · For Further Reading</div>fckLRfckLR|group2 = Boroughs<br>and<br>Census Areas fckLR|list2 = <div>fckLRAleutians East · Aleutians West · Anchorage · Bethel · Bristol Bay · Denali · Dillingham · Fairbanks North Star · Haines · Hoonah-Angoon · Juneau · Kenai Peninsula · Ketchikan Gateway · Kodiak Island · Lake and Peninsula · Matanuska-Susitna · Nome · North Slope · Northwest Arctic · Prince of Wales-Hyder · Skagway Borough · Skagway Municipality · Sitka · Southeast Fairbanks · Valdez-Cordova · Wade Hampton · Wrangell · Yakutat · Yukon-Koyukuk · Unorganized</div>fckLRfckLR|group3 = Major<br>fckLRRepositories fckLR|list3 = <div>fckLRAlaska State Archives · Alaska State Library · Alaska Historical Library · University of Alaska, Fairbanks · National Archives Pacific Alaska Region (Anchorage) · National Archives Pacific Alaska Region - Seattle · Family History Library</div> fckLRfckLR|group4 = Migration<br>fckLRRoutes fckLR|list4 = <div>fckLRInside Passage · Alaska Marine Highway · Yukon River · Chilkoot Trail · Dalton Trail · Iditarod Trail · White Pass Trail · Alcan Highway · Haines Road · Alaska Railroad · White Pass and Yukon Route Railway</div>fckLR}}




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 21:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,360 times.