Skelton in Cleveland, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.pngSkelton in Cleveland

Skelton in Cleveland, Yorkshire
Redundandant All Saints Skelton in Cleveland Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Guisborough PLU
Registration District Guisbrough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567; Separate registers exist for Brotton beginning 1641
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Brotton beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Skelton All Saints is an Ancient parish in Cleveland in the North riding of Yorkshire.The church built in 1785 is now redundant. It has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building and is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. Other places in the parish included: Stanghow, Stranghow, Kilton, Manlees Green, Mooresholm cum Gerrick, Great Moorsholm, Skinningrove, Moorseholm, Girrick, Brotton, Moorsholm cum Girrick, Saltburn, Skelton with Manless Green, and Moorsholm.

SKELTON (All Saints), or Skelton near Guisborough or Skelton in Cleveland, is a parish, in the union of Guisborough, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, North Riding of York; containing, with the township of Moorsholm with Girrick, and that of Stanghoe, 1053 inhabitants, of whom 628 are in Skelton township, 4 miles northeast by north from Guisborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Skelton in Cleveland exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
SKELTON IN CLEVELAND PARISH (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464233.

Poor Law Unions

Guisborough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 113-115. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,307 times.