Skeyton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Skeyton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Skeyton, Norfolk
All Saints Church Skeyton.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1706
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SKEYTON (All Saints), a parish; in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (E. by S.) from Aylsham. [1]
Skeyton All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich

Skeyton is a village and a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. The village is 13.5 miles (21.7 km) south of Cromer, 13.4 miles (21.6 km) north of Norwich and 129 miles (208 km) north-east of London. The village lies 4 miles (6.4 km) east of the nearby town of Aylsham. For local government purposes the civil parish is in the North Norfolk district.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Skeyton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Skeyton, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1885
1600-1901
1600-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1706-1902 Undefined 1706-1901 Undefined 1706-1905
JOIN
1670-1837

NTA 1670-1775
1670-1775
1670-1775
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 147

Parish registers of Skeyton, 1706-1905 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich. Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD 147/1-6, 8-10.

General register containing baptisms, 1706-1783, marriages, 1706-1754, baptisms, 1783-1788, burials, 1707-1788; Baptisms and burials, 1788-1812; Baptisms, 1813-1902; Marriages, 1754-1812, banns, 1754-1824; Marriages, 1813-1901; Burials, 1813-1905; Banns, 1824-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2149274 Items 12 - 20

Archdeacons transcripts

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England. Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms 1600-1610?, 1623-1633, 1665?-1812 Marriages 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1665?-1812 Burials 1600-1610?, 1623-1633, 1635?-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526780 Item 15

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.


Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish chest materials of Skeyton, 1727-1866 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD 147/28-29, 31-34, 36-38, 40, 42.
Rates, which are taxes, are determined by property valuation, therefore church and poor rates list owners and occupiers of properties. In some cases, they are listed alphabetically by surname.

Churchwardens' accounts, rates, etc., 1802-1866; Financial statement of the "Harvest Home" feast held 16 Sept., 1856 (includes lists of names of employers in the parish, with names of all their employees and numbers in their families). FHL BRITISH Film 2149274 Items 21 - 22
Overseers' accounts, 1800-1829 (includes some poor rates); Settlement certificates, 1727-1832; Settlement examinations, 1837-1740 (filmed in reverse order); Removal orders, 1758-1837; Bastardy bonds, 1783, 1780, 1771, 1735, 1732; Bastardy orders, 1781-1831; Apprenticeship indentures, 1819-1830; Order for relief, 1804 (for Maria Cook, otherwise Maria Dennis, and child); Application for relief for Edmund Cook, 1812. FHL BRITISH Film 2149275 Items 1 - 9

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 113-115. Date accessed: 03 June 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,787 times.