Skipton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Skipton

Guide to Skipton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Skipton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro; Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Skipton PLU
Registration District Skipton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SKIPTON (Holy Trinity), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the E. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, but partly in the Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York, 44 miles (W.) from York, and 211miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing, with the townships of Barden, Bolton-Abbey, Draughton, Embsay with Eastby, East Halton, Hazlewood with Storiths, and part of Beamsley, 6870 inhabitants, of whom 4842 are in the town.  There are places of worship for Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. The union of Skipton comprises 42 parishes or places, and contains a population of 28,736. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these . There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Parish Records

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1592 for Skipton in Craven, Holy Trinity.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Skipton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SKIPTON PARISH (1592) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1597-1857

1592-1847, 1880

1817-1845

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Skipton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Skipton page.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464271.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemeteries

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 115-118. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 2,733 times.