Skipton ChristchurchEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Hundred||Claro; Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||Skipton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1839|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1839|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Skipton Christchurch is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1840 from Skipton Ancient Parish.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from parish registers of Skipton Christchurch exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk|
|SKIPTON CHRISTCHURCH ECCLISIASTICAL PARISH (1***) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Skipton Christchurch to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Skipton Christchurch page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464271.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
WebsitesContributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:15.
- This page has been accessed 1,044 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki