Skipton on Swale, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Skipton on Swale)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.pngSkipton on Swale

Guide to Skipton on Swale, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Skipton on Swale, Yorkshire
St John the Evangelist Skipton on Swale Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birdforth
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thirsk PLU
Registration District Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Skipton on Swale St John the Evangelist was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish from Topcliffe, Yorkshire Ancient parish.

SKIPTON-BRIDGE, or Skipton-upon-Swale, a township and a chapelry in Topcliffe parish, N. R. Yorkshire. The chapelry was constituted in 1843. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Topcliffe exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SKIPTON UPON SWALE TOWNSHIP/CHAPELRY (1843) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1843-1872 None None
JOIN None None None
AC None None None
HATH None None None
AO None None None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Skipton upon Swale and comprising the whole ancient parish of Topcliffe to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Topcliffe page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464228.

Poor Law Unions

Thirsk Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,407 times.