Slaidburn, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Slaidburn

Guide to Slaidburn, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Slaidburn, Yorkshire
Slaidburn St Andrew Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Clitheroe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SLAIDBURN (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Clitheroe, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of High Bowland Forest, Easington, and Newton, 1792 inhabitants, of whom 741 are in Slaidburn township, 8 miles (N. by W.) from Clitheroe.[1]

Slaidburn (St. Andrew) is a parish i  West Riding of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Battrix,  Bowland Forest High, LancashireBowland Forest Low, Lancashire, Dunsop, Easington, Upper Easington, Lower Easington, Newton, Newton in Bowland, Newton near Clitheroe, and Essington.

From early times, the Manor of Slaidburn formed part of the ancient Lordship of Bowland, being held in demesne from at least the late thirteenth century. The Lordship of Bowland comprised a Royal Forest and a Liberty of ten manors spanning eight townships and four parishes and covered an area of almost 300 square miles (800 km2) on the historic borders of Lancashire and Yorkshire. The manors within the Liberty were Slaidburn (Newton-in-Bowland, West Bradford, Grindleton), Knowlmere, Waddington, Easington, Bashall, Mitton, Withgill (Crook), Leagram (Bowland-with-Leagram), Hammerton and Dunnow (Battersby). Modern-day Bowland Forest is divided in two large administrative townships - Great Bowland (Bowland Forest High and Bowland Forest Low) and Little Bowland (Bowland-with-Leagram).

According to a leading local historian, the historic Manor and Liberty of Slaidburn covered a wide area, not equivalent to the Slaidburn parish boundaries, but comprising the villages and town fields of Slaidburn and Newton-in-Bowland, including Ingbreak, a town field to the west of Slaidburn village; Raw Moor, part of the enclosed land of 1619 north of Slaidburn village in the Croasdale area; Brunghill Moor, Burn Moor and Dunsop, also enclosed in 1619 and near Back Lane and Burn Hill; Champion, also enclosed in 1619 and to the east of Slaidburn village; Woodhouse, to the north west of Slaidburn village; Youlstone Wood, also enclosed in 1619, and to the south of Newton village; and most of West Bradford and Grindleton villages and their town fields. The townships of Easington and Bowland Forest had been sold in early times and the land here did not fall under the jurisdiction of the Manor of Slaidburn - the Bannister family held the Manor of Easington in Tudor times for instance.

Slaidburn is a village and civil parish within the Ribble Valley district of Lancashire, England. Historically, a part of the West Riding of Yorkshire, Slaidburn lies near the head of the River Hodder and Stocks Reservoir, both within the Forest of Bowland, an Area of Outstanding National Beauty. Farming is still a major employer, but the area attracts tourists – for walking in particular. The civil parish of Slaidburn shares a parish council with Easington, a rural parish to the north of Slaidburn.

Resources

Church Records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Slaidburn exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SLAIDBURN PARISH (1599) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1600-1864
1600-1881

1853-1868

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Slaidburn to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Slaidburn page.

Cemeteries

Parish Records

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464273.

Poor Law Unions

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

Partial Pedigree Chart of Spencer of Slaidburn, dating from 1539-1787.  Some emigrate to USA. in the 1700's. Article in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine, vol 27 #3, Aug. 2005 page 17

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 118-120. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 2,675 times.