Slaley, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Slaley, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Slaley, Northumberland
Slaley, St Mary Northumberland.jpg
Slaley, St Mary Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1703
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SLALEY, a parish, in the union of Hexham, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 5½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Hexham.[1]

Additional information:

Slaley St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish and the religious history of the village may be traced to the 13th and 14th century. There is a documentary reference to a church at Slaley at this time, but it has since been rebuilt. A millstone quarry once operated at Slaley and is known from historical documents. Much of medieval life was dominated by religion and monasteries are known in the nearby area at Blanchland and Hexham. These religious houses developed great estates away from the main church and the Hermitage and Chapel of St Mary, given to Kelso Abbey in Scotland, may lie in this or the neighbouring parish of Broomhaugh and Riding. The wealth of these houses may have attracted Scottish raiders, known to have attacked Blanchland and en route Merchingley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/232 Date: 1762-1888  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. 

Slaley, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1703-1971, marriages 1722-1991 and burials 1720-1910 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1703-1812 and marriages 1722-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1725-1812. An indexed transcript of baptisms 1703-1851, marriages 1722-1851 & burials 1720-1851 for Slaley (microfiche PR203) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society; and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records

Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Hexham W.M. Circuit. Records for 1797-1836 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service and are included on the IGI.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 11 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 976 times.