Slaugham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Slaugham, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Slaugham, Sussex
St Mary Slaugham West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield PLU
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SLAUGHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (S. by W.) from Crawley. The parish is situated on the road from London, through Crawley, to Brighton; and the river Ouse has its source here, in the grounds of Ashford, forming in its course a lake of about thirty acres at Slaugham mills. There is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Slaugham St Mary  is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex.Other places in the parish include: Handcross, Pease Pottage, and Warningfield.

The history of the parish including Handcross and Pease Pottage is here

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Slaugham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Other places of worship include

All Saints, Handcross All Saints handcross Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Baptist House dating from 1765 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Church of the Ascension, Pease Pottage Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Methodist Church, Handcross
Society of Friends Meeting House
St Andrew, Warninglid Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Zoar Strict Baptist Chapel, Handcross See also Slaugham Wikipedia Handcross Wikipedia Pease Pottage Wikipedia and  A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 118-120.  here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records

Slaugham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Slaugham, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1606-1876 1654-1875

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1654-1890 Marr 1654-1897 Bur 1694-1893 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1894

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Slaugham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Slaugham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 118-120. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 September 2014, at 21:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,126 times.