SloveniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Slovenia

Guide to Slovenia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Beginner's Corner

more...

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)



Lake Bled.jpg


Welcome to the Slovenia Page! FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Slovenia Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Slovenian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Slovenia Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Contents

Featured Content

Slovenia is a country in southern Central Europe bordering Italy to the west, the Adriatic Sea to the southwest, Croatia to the south and east, Hungary to the northeast, and Austria to the north. To read more about Slovenia see The World Factbook and Wikipedia.

Jurisdictions

Slovenia.jpg


Administrative divisions Slovenia is traditionally divided into eight regions. The traditional regions of Slovenia based on the former four Habsburg crown lands (Carniola, Carinthia, Styria, and the Littoral) are (Read more)

Did you know?

During its history, the current territory of Slovenia was part of the Roman Empire; the Ostrogothic Kingdom; the Byzantine Empire; the principality of Carantania (only modern Slovenia's northern part); the Frankish Kingdom; the Holy Roman Empire; the Republic of Venice (only the coastal area); the Kingdom of Hungary (only the eastern part); the Habsburg Monarchy; the Illyrian Provinces of Napoleon's French Empire; the Austrian Empire (later known as Austria-Hungary); the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes (renamed to Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929); the Kingdom of Italy (only the western part); between the two World Wars it was occupied and or annexed by Germany, Italy, Hungary, and the Independent State of Croatia (1941–1945); and the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia from 1945 until recent independence in 1991.

Research Tools

Research Strategies

  • Slovenia Research Strategies

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here)

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Help with the Slovenia Wiki pages

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 03:45.
  • This page has been accessed 8,000 times.