Smallbridge, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Smallbridge, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Smallbridge, Lancashire
Smallbridge St John the Baptist contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Rochdale
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

SMALLBRIDGE, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish and union of Rochdale, hundred of Salford,S. division of Lancashire, 2 miles (N. E.) from Rochdale, on the road to Halifax. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Smallbridge chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
SMALLBRIDGE ST JOHN THE BAPTIST CHAPELRY (1834) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1834-1915 1835, 1838-1930 1813-1976
FS 1834-1850 None 1848-1857
LBMD 1837-1901 1838-1925 1837-1901

ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes (ancient parish containing SMALLBRIDGE Chapelry)

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Smallbridge and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Bishop's transcripts for Smallbridge, 1834-1857 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Bishop's transcripts of the chapelry of Smallbridge (St. John) in the township of Wuerdle-with-Wardle, Rochdale parish, Lancashire. Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/308

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1834-1857.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545950 Item 1


Census records

The Family History Library has an 1851 census surname index of Lancashire - Rochdale, Butterworth Castleton subdistricts: Public Redords Office ref HO 107/2244. FHL British Book 942.72 X22c v 21 and on FHL British Microfiche 6414326


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 123-125. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,751 times.