Smallwood, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Smallwood

Guide to Smallwood, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St John the Baptist, Smallwood Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

SMALLWOOD, is a township, in the parish of Astbury, union of Congleton, hundred of Northwich, the Southern division of the county of Chester, it is three miles (E. by S.) from Sandbach.  A church was erected in 1845.[1]

Smallwood is a civil parish and small village in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The village is situated approximately three miles east of Sandbach and 3 miles south west of Congleton.

Other closely associated chapelries to Smallwood and also lying within Astbury ancient parish included the chapelries of Congleton St James, Congleton St Peter and Congleton St Stephen, Cheshire|Congleton St Stephen, Mossley Holy Trinity, Buglawton, Rode and Somerford, Cheshire|Somerford]]; together with several places of worship for dissenters, in the parish.[2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241249.

Church records

Smallwood St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Smallwood St John the Baptist Parish (1848) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1851-1876
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1848-1876
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Smallwood Bishops Transcripts: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 187

Bishop's transcripts for Smallwood, 1857-1876 Film
Burials, 1857-1870, baptisms, 1860-1869, baptisms, burials, 1870-1871, baptisms, 1872-1873, burials, 1872-1873, baptisms, 1874-1876, burials, 1874-1876.
1647671 Item 2

Non Conformist Churches

  • Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Congleton (1837-1937)
  • Crewe (1937-74)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974-1988)
  • South Cheshire (1988-98)
  • Cheshire East (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

Congleton Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1871-72). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 100-104. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,163 times.