Smethwick, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Smethwick, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Smethwick, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Kings Norton PLU
Registration District Kings Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1732
Bishop's Transcripts: 1774
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery West Bromwich
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SMETHWICK, a hamlet and manufacturing district, in the parish of Harborne, union of King's-Norton, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (W. by N.) from Birmingham. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Smethwick parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
SMETHWICK PARISH OLD CHURCH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1732-1839
1732-1789
1732-1831
FS 1774-1857




NBI



1774-1929



St Andrews Mission Church was formed out of Smethwick St Paul Parish. Registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ST ANDREWS MISSION CHURCH (1898) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1898-1904


Non-Conformist Churches

New St. Wesleyan Methodist Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NEW ST WESLEYAN METHODIST CHURCH (1840) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1840-1870






Waterloo Rd Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  WATERLOO ROAD WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL'(1882) Online Records'

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1882-1915






Smethwick Primitive Methodist Circuit registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  SMETHWICK PRIMITIVE METHODIST CIRCUIT'(1849) Online Records'

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1849-1927





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Smethwick/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 123-125. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 August 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 September 2014, at 16:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,450 times.