Smith River Indian Agency (California)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States American Indians California Indians of California Smith River Indian Agency (California) Guide to Smith River Indian Agency (California) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency
Wailaki, Saia, Mattole, and other Indians. Indians of California
The Nome Lackee Agency was established as an agency in 1864, with responsibility for Indians living on the Smith River Reservation, located in northwestern California near Crescent City. Most of the Indians of the Smith River Reservation had lived along the Eel River in Humboldt County before being assigned to the Smith River Reservation.
The Smith River Agency was abolished in 1869 and the Indians moved to Hoopa Valley Agency.
Agents and Appointment Dates
Willima Bryson October 14, 1864, Henry Orman September 21, 1866 
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Some historical records of this agency, including correspondence, etc., are part of the records of the California Superintendency records.
- ↑ The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. By Edward E. Hill. Clearwater Publishing Co., New York, NY ©1974. FHL Book 970.1 H551o
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
- This page was last modified on 31 March 2015, at 18:46.
- This page has been accessed 995 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News