Smithfield, New YorkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
New York
Madison County
Town of Smithfield
Contents |
Resources
Church Records
History
Additional Resources:
|
Genealogical Resources: History of Smithfield, NY |
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
The town of Smithfield does not have a library but check out the Mid York Library System of which Madison County is a part of, to locate the towns close to Smithfield that have public libraries.
|
Oneida Public Library |
Genealogical resources: Local History Room |
Societies
Smithfield Community Association
5255 Pleasent Valley Road
P.O.Box 42
Peterboro, NY 13134-0042
E-mail: mail@sca-peterboro.org
|
Madison County Historical Society |
Genealogical Resources: The Mary King Research Library collections includes the following items, family names, newspapers on microfilm, vital stats, census records and more.The Society also has an online newsletter. |
Town Clerk
|
Town of Smithfield, Clerk |
Genealogical Resources: The Town Clerk issues Birth and Death certificates, birth and death transcripts and burial transit permits and is responsible for keeping a permanent record of all births, deaths, and marriages tat occur within the town since 1883. |
Town Historian
Donna Dorrance Burdick, Historian
110 Cresecent Dr.
Kirkswood, NY 13795
Phone:607–775–3103
E–mail: dburdick@stny.rr.com
Town Records
To locate additional published and transcribed records for Smithfield, New York check:
- Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.
Vital Records
References
Places
| ||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 March 2012, at 15:18.
- This page has been accessed 297 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More