Snainton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Snainton)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.png Snainton

Guide to Snainton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Snainton, Yorkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pickering-Lythe
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Scarborough PLU
Registration District Scarborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1713; For more records see Brompton and also Ebbertson with Allerston
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SNAINTON, a chapelry, partly in the parish of Ebberston, but chiefly in that of Brompton, union of Scarborough, Pickering lythe, N. riding of York, 9½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Scarborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Ebberston exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SNAINTON CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Snainton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ebberston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Ebberston page.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 126-129. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,467 times.