Snave, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Snave, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Snave, Kent
Snave St Augustine Kent.jpg
Snave St Augustine Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh PLU
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1619
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Snave St Augustine is an Ancient parish in Romney Marsh. The heavily buttressed church is in a tiny hamlet and only used for an annual service. Since 1984 it has been redundant and is in the care of the Romney Marsh Historic Churches Trust.

The parish of Orlestone, Kent St Mary with Snave is part of the Orlestone with Snave and Ruckinge with Warehorne and Kenardington benefice in the Diocese of Canterbury

A 13th century church with later additions and renovations including that of 1873. One of the bells is dated around 1380 cast by Steve Norton of Maidstone and is one of only three bells of this manufacturer known to survive.

Subsidence in the building and declining population have left the church isolated. It is approached by a grassy track.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 394-399. Date accessed: 21 October 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Snave, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[4]
Snave, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
1669-1812

FREG 1750-1911
1754-1911

FS PRs 1823-1900 (banns)
MIDK 1754-1911

Land Tax

Images for Snave are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

This parish was partly in the hundred of Aloesbridge
See Edward Hasted 'The hundred of Aloesbridge: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 375 at British History Online

The other part of the parish was in the hundred of Ham

See Edward Hasted The hundred of Ham: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 360 at British History Online



Census records

Census returns for Snave 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

SNAVE (St. Augustine), a parish, in the union and liberty of Romney-Marsh, though locally in the hundreds of Aloesbridge, Ham, and Newchurch, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 4½ miles (N. W. by N.) from New Romney. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 126-129. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,587 times.