Sock Dennis, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Sock Dennis, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sock Dennis, Somerset
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tintinhull
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil PLU
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOCK-DENNIS, a parish in Yeovil district, Somerset; 1 mile SW of Ilchester, and 2½ E by N of Martock railway station.[1]

STOCK-DENNIS (SOCK-DENNIS), with Stock-Wyndham, an extraparochial district, in the hundred of Tintinhull, union of Yeovil, W. division of Somerset. This was formerly a parish, but the church having been destroyed, and the place almost depopulated, it lost its parochial rights.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474604.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/SockDennis/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 691 times.