Sockburn, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.png  Sockburn

Sockburn, Yorkshire
All Saints, Girsby Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allertonshire; Stockton
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Darlington PLU
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

For more information and records see Sockburn, Durham

Parish History

Sockburn All Saints was an Ancient Parish partly in Yorkshire and partly in Durham. It was in the diocese of Durham. The River Tees divided the parish and the old church was on the Durham side of the river. The majority of the parish lived across the river in Yorkshire and without a bridge, had to ferry across the river or ford the river at times of the year. The age of the church and situation led to a new church being built at Girsby in North Yorkshire.

The original ruined church of All Saints which is said to have been Saxon in origin lie in the grounds of Sockburn Hall. The Hall was rebuilt in the 1830's and is a listed building. The saxon religious significance of Sockburn can be documented by the consecration of Higbald of Lindisfarne too in AD 780, followed by Eanbald as Archbishop of York in AD 790. 'Socceburg' was also given to the community of St Cuthbert's in AD 990 and may have been a minster of one of the large estates from the 7th to 10th centuries.

SOCKBURN (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Darlington, partly in the S. W. division of Stockton ward, county of Durham, but chiefly in the wapentake of Allertonshire, N. riding of York, 7 miles (S. E.) from Darlington.[1]

See also Sockburn, Durham. The modern parish is in the village of Girsby Yorkshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Sockburn exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
SOCKBURN PARISH (1593) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

1593-1837

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sockburn to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Sockburn page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/233 Date: 1762-1839  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1580-1982 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Soc). The International Genealogical Index includes Christenings 1580-1641, 1658-1767;<br>Marriages 1580-1812.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464227.

Poor Law Unions

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,025 times.