Sogn og Fjordane County, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sogn og Fjordane County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Sogn og Fjordane (help·info) is a county in Norway, bordering Møre og Romsdal, Oppland, Buskerud, and Hordaland. It is mainly a rural area with a scattered population. Sogn og Fjordane includes the largest glacier in mainland Norway, Jostedalsbreen, in the Breheimen mountain range, and the deepest lake, Hornindalsvatnet. There are also many famous waterfalls located in the area. Ramnefjellsfossen (previously called Utigardfossen) is the tallest in Norway and third tallest in the world and Vettisfossen is one of Norway's highest waterfalls (with a vertical drop of 275 meters). Both are located in the Jotunheim mountains. Cruise ships visit Sogn og Fjordane all summer because of the unique vistas of high mountains and deep blue fjords.
Family History Resources
Government Offices and Sites
Cities, Parishes and Clerical Districts in Sogn og Fjordane County
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
Clerical probate records for Bergen diocese, 1680-1720 which includes these districts and counties:
Records include probates of priests, parish clerks, schoolteachers and their widows.
Return to Norway Page
- This page was last modified on 5 December 2015, at 04:17.
- This page has been accessed 14,138 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News