Somerset County, MaineEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Maine
Somerset County
Guide to Somerset County Maine genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Somerset County, Maine | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Maine | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 1, 1809 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Skowhegan |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Somerset County Courthouse Court Street Skowhegan, ME 04976 Phone: 207.474.9861 Somerset County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk Courts has some marriage records from 1800’s and proabte records from 1809.[1]
History
Parent County
Created 1 March 1809 from Kennebec County.[1]
Boundary Changes
Parts of Somerset County were set off to:
- Franklin County 20 March 1838.[1]
- Piscataquis County 23 March 1838.[1]
- Part of Aroostook County 12 March 1844.[1]
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Towns
Plantations: Brighton Plantation | Dennistown | Highland Plantation | Pleasant Ridge Plantation | The Forks Plantation | West Forks. For further details see Maine plantations.
Communities
|
|
|
Villages: • Flagstaff • North Anson
Unorganized territories. Townships listed from southeast to northwest within their group. BKP=Bingham's Kennebec Purchase; EKR=East of the Kennebec River NBKP=North of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase; Twp=Township; WELS=West of the Easterly Line of the State; WKR=West of the Kennebec River. For further details see Maine townships.
|
|
|
Neighboring Counties
Aroostook | Franklin | Kennebec | Penobscot | Piscataquis | Waldo | Quebec counties: Beauce | Bellechasse | Dorchester | Frontenac
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Gazetteers
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Maine Newspaper Archive Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.
Early Maine newspapers routinely reported on news, obituaries, births, marriages etc. from around the state. Be sure to search the indexes for all Maine newspapers to find your target ancestor.Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- The Somerset County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Somerset County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Somerset County (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Somerset County
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 305. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 115. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
| ||||||||||||
| This Maine-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 20 May 2013, at 21:57.
- This page has been accessed 2,386 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

