Somerset County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Somerset County
Somerset County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Somerset County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | April 17, 1795 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Somerset | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Somerset County Courthouse 111 East Union Street Somerset, PA 15501 | ||||||
| |||||||
Somerset County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Neighboring Counties: Somerset County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Cambria (north) • Garrett County, Maryland and Allegany County, Maryland (south) • Westmoreland (northwest) • Fayette (west) • Bedford (east)
Named for the County of Somerset in England.
Boundary Changes
26 March 1804: Cambria County was set off.[1]
Somerset County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
- Addison Cemetery Find A Grave
- Altfather Burial Grounds Find A Grave
- Alwine Cemetery Find A Grave
- Amish Cemetery (New) Find A Grave
- Amish Cemetery (old) Find A Grave
- Amish Mennonite Cemetery #1 (formerly known as Oak Dale Cemetery) Find A Grave
- Amos J. Yoder Old Burial Ground Find A Grave
- Ankeny Cemetery Find A Grave
- Ankeny Square Burial Ground Find A Grave
- Augustine Burial Ground Find A Grave
- Augustine Burial Ground (Fazenbakers Farm) Find A Grave
- B. F. Bitner Farm Cemetery Find A Grave
- Baer Burial Ground Find A Grave
- Baker Burial Ground (Jefferson Township) Find A Grave
- Baker Cemetery Find A Grave
- Bakersville Cemetery Find A Grave
- Baptist Church Cemetery Find A Grave
- Barnes/Seese Cemetery Find A Grave
- Barron Cemetery Find A Grave
- Berlin Reformed Cemetery Billion Graves
- Crossroads Cemetery Billion Graves
- Custer Cemetery Billion Graves
- Friedens Lutheran Church Cemetery Billion Graves
- Garden of Memories Cemetery Billion Graves
- Porter Cemetery, Hyndman BillionGraves
- Zion Reformed Lutheran Church Cemetery BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Somerset County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.The Somerset County Historical Center has various records for churches throughout the Somerset County area. However, the society has not put the records on-line and to view the records one must go to the society. The society will do research for a fee. For more details see their website.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Somerset County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Somerset County Church History and Records courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Catholic
- 1843-1943 - "100 years of the Pittsburgh Catholic Diocese 1843–1943". Western Pennsylvania Genealogical Society Quarterly, 17:1. FamilySearch Library book 974.8 B2wg. Contains chronology, map, county-by-county information.
Episcopal
Services for the St. James Episcopal Church in Bedford began as early as 1755 but was not an organized parish until 1861.[3]
Lutheran
Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church was organized by 1785 although the exact date is unknown. The Lutheran and German Reformed congregations met at the same union church until 1848.[3]
- 1812-1875 - Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church Baptism Index 1812-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505481.[4]
- 1818-1871 - Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church Marriage Index 1818-1871 (gap 1849-1860) in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M505481.[4]
Evangelical Lutheran Church, Stoyestown
- 1798-1881 - Evangelical Lutheran Church, Stoyestown, Baptism Index 1798-1881 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505431.[4]
Glade Reformed and Lutheran Congregation, Stony Creek Township
- 1798, 1811-1866 - Glade Reformed and Lutheran Congregation, Stony Creek Township, Baptism Index 1798, 1811-1866 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505421.[4]
Grace White Oak Lutheran and Reformed Church, Formerly Reichards
- 1830-1875 - Grace White Oak Lutheran and Reformed Church, Formerly Reichards, Baptism Index 1830-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505451.[4]
Methodist
In 1809, the Methodist Episcopal church was formed.[3]
Presbyterian
The Presbyterians were in the county early although no exact date is known, although, the first known paster came in 1786. The First Presbyterian Church building in the county was erected in Bedford in 1800.[3]
Reformed
The Reformed Church of Bedford was in the county early although no known date is known although it is believed it was before 1769. They met in a union church with the Lutherans until they separated in 1848.[3]
German Reformed Church, Centreville
- 1850-1883 - German Reformed Church, Centreville, Baptism Index 1850-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C587031.[4]
- 1873-1883 - German Reformed Church, Centreville, Marriage Index 1873-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M587031.[4]
German Reformed Church, New Centerville
- 1850-1883 - German Reformed Church, New Centerville, Baptism Index 1850-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C536691.[4]
- 1873-1883 - German Reformed Church, New Centerville, Marriage Index 1873-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M536691.[4]
German Reformed Church, Stoyestown
- 1799-1875 - German Reformed Church, Stoyestown, Baptism Index 1799-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505441.[4]
Glade Reformed and Lutheran Congregation, Stony Creek Township
- 1798, 1811-1866 - Glade Reformed and Lutheran Congregation, Stony Creek Township, Baptism Index 1798, 1811-1866 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505421.[4]
Grace White Oak Lutheran and Reformed Church, Formerly Reichards
- 1830-1875 - Grace White Oak Lutheran and Reformed Church, Formerly Reichards, Baptism Index 1830-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505451.[4]
Mt. Tabor Reformed Church formerly Union Church or Zimmermans, Quemahoning Township
- 1839-1875 - Mt. Tabor Reformed Church formerly Union Church or Zimmermans, Quemahoning Township, Baptism Index 1839-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505391.[4]
Reformed Church, Friedens
- 1852-1875 - Reformed Church, Friedens, Baptism Index 1852-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504971.[4]
Court Records
Somerset County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Somerset County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Somerset County, Pennsylvania County has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[5]
- 1753–1922 Coroner's Inquisitions FHL film 1029677, item 2; 1029678
Clerk of the Courts
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[6] For the Somerset County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Somerset County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Orphans' Court
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[7]
For Somerset County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
- 1800–1902 Orphans court Docket (index 1795–1920)FHL film 559652 (first of 15 films)
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Somerset County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
- Blackburn, E. Howard, History of Bedford and Somerset Counties, Pennsylvania, 1906 courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Published Histories
Land and Property
Land records in Somerset County began in 1795. These records are filed with the Register of Deeds office in Somerset, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- 1985-present Images are available online using the Landex system. There is a fee to view the images.
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1795–1949 Record of Deeds, 1795-1902; Index to Deeds, 1795-1949. FHL film 558300 (first of 79 films)
- 1795–1964 Index to Mortgagor and Mortgagee, 1795-1964; Mortgage Records, v. 1-2 1846-1871. FHL film 559207 (first of 10 films)
- 1803–1922 Sheriff's Deeds. Fhl films 559649-50
Additional Resources
Note that the "Maps" section below also includes maps related to land ownership.
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Somerset County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Maps
Click the image to view an enlarged version
Ancestor Tracks has posted free downloadable images from the Somerset County Atlas of Surveys and Warrants Collected and Plotted as a WPA Project, 1939. This atlas located in the Office of Recorder of Deeds in Somerset includes maps showing the first landowners, warrants, surveys, and patents, but they are not indexed. While the physical maps may be in the public domain, the images we have taken of them belong to us and are not to be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
Migration
Military
Civil
- Service of Somerset County Men and Women involved in the Civil War Work in Progress. Courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Revolutionary War
Men living in what is now Somerset County (then Bedford County) served in the 8th Pennsylvania Regiment.[8]
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Naturalization records available for Somerset County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
- 1820-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537, incomplete for all counties
- 1820-1930 - Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1800–1906 Naturalization Records FHL film 1318013 (first of 4 films)
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Somerset County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Somerset County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Somerset County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
- USGenWeb - Newspapers in the County
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
- The Somerset Herald and Farmers' and Mechanics Register (Somerset, PA) 183?-1852 Chronicling America.
- Somerset Herald (Somerset, PA) 18?? - ???? Chronicling America.
- The Somerset Herald (Somerset, PA) 1870-1936 Chronicling America.
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Somerset County, Pennsylvania.
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts
- Somerset Whip (Somerset County, Pennsylvania) and Somerset Democrat (Somerset County, Pennsylvania), Newspapers, The Somerset Whig, 1818,1819; The Somerset Democrat, 1864 (SLC, Utah, 1968) FHL film 560193 item 8
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Somerset County, Pennsylvania.
- USGenWeb - Obituary Records
- Somerset County Obituaries courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Occupations
Indentured Servants
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Somerset County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Records
Original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available free online as digital images at FamilySearch.org. The dates vary significantly for each county and not all counties are listed. Some counties may only have probate indexes. This Pennsylvania collection of images may be browsed through the links listed below:
Complete Collection:
- 1683-1994 – Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
- 1683-1994 – Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
Somerset County Only:
- 1795–1916 – Somerset County Probate Records
- 1795–1916 – Somerset County Probate Records
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1795–1916 Orphans court records (index 1795–1922)FHL film 558479 (first of 7 films)
- 1795–1907 Index of estate records, docket, record of executors and administration accounts, auditor's reports (index 1795–1921)FHL film 558478 (first of 20 films)
- 1889–1937 Partition Docket, vol. 1FHL film 557976
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Somerset County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Repositories
Archives
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
- 111 East Union Street
- Somerset, PA 15501
- Phone: (814) 445-1473
- Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30AM-4:00PM
- Copies of documents including birth, marriages, deaths, divorces, land, and probate records can be obtained by using: Pennsylvania Public Record. Click on the link for the record you wish to request.
Clerk of Courts
- Somerset County Courthouse, Suite 180
- Phone: 814-445-1435
- Somerset County Courthouse, Suite 165
- Phone: 814–445-1428
- Fax: 814–444-9270
- E–mail: prothonotary@co.somerset.pa.us
- Somerset County Courthouse Suite 145
- Phone: 814–445-1548
- Fax: 814–444-1542
- E–mail: ackermans@co.somerset.pa.us
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Somerset County, Pennsylvania is the Greensburg Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
The Meyersdale Public Library has a Pennsylvania Room focused on genealogical resources for the county and state. Their address is:
- 210 Center St
PO Box 98
Meyersdale, Pennsylvania, 15552
Phone: (814) 634-0512
- The Pennsylvania Room provides research services for $15 for the first hour. They will contact you after the hour to determine how much more time would be needed to complete the request.
- $5 per obituary with exact date of death ($15 an hour if you have the month and year)
- Obituaries provided online from 1930 to the present hosted on USGenWeb Archives
Museums
Somerset Historical Center
Western Pennsylvania's Rural Heritage Museum
10649 Somerset Pike
Somerset, PA 15501
Phone: (814) 445-6077
Email: c-sseese@pa.gov
The Museum also holds the Genealogical Library maintained by the Historical and Genealogical Society of Somerset County Pennsylvania. See the society listed below.
Societies
The Historical and Genealogical Society of Somerset County Pennsylvania maintains a library at the Somerset Historical Center. The collection includes records of birth, marriage, death, maps, military, newspapers, obituaries, tax, estate, family files, county histories, church records, and an online WPA Cemetery Index. A genealogical research service is offered with fees beginning at $20 for members and $25 for nonmembers.
- Somerset Historical Center
10649 Somerset Pike
Somerset PA 15501
Genealogical Society Librarian: Susan Seese
814-445-6077
e-mail: c-sseese@pa.gov
facebook
Research Guides
Woodroofe's guide to Somerset County "hidden sources" at The Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania is available online:
- Woodroofe, Helen Hutchison. "A Genealogist's Guide to Pennsylvania Records," The Pennsylvania Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 34, No. 3 (1986):252-263. For free online access, see WeRelate.
Taxation
- 1798 - Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).
Vital Records
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
- 1726-1930 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Births Ancestry.com – $ Index with images.
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
Marriage
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Somerset County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic database of information. The entries are primarily from the International Genealogical Index (IGI) along with some entries derived from compiled and original records such as: Family Records, Church Records, Civil Registration. It may also include indexes generated by the internet indexing project sponsored by the LDS Church.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. Most of the records consist of marriage licenses, certificates, applications, docket books, and affidavits. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Death
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – $ Index with images.
- 1853-1908 - Somerset County Death Index 1853-1908 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Somerset County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Somerset County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Somerset County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
Somerset County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 History of Bedford, Somerset and Fulton Counties, Pennsylvania (Chicago, IL: Waterman, Watkins, 1884), 258-262; FamilySearch Books Online; FHL book 974.87 H2w.
- ↑ 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 4.12 4.13 4.14 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/49/Igipennsylvaniapppppp.pdf.
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ accessed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ Harold Frederic, William C. Frederick III with William J. McMaster Sr., Path of Blood: The Untold Story of the Kittanning PA. Regiment in the American Revolution (Kittanning, Pa.: W.C. Frederick, 1998). FHL Book 974.8 M2ff
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 15:25.
- This page has been accessed 3,810 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More






