Sompting, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Sompting, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sompting, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brightford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOMPTING, a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Brightford, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 4 miles (W. by N.) from Shoreham. The church is a cruciform structure, principally in the early English style, with a tower at the west end, and contains a private chapel and an oratory, the latter of which is now used as a baptistery; the edifice was enlarged and repaired in 1828, and again in 1838. An hospital dedicated to the Virgin Mary and St. Anthony was founded at Cokeham, at an early period, by William Bernchius.[1]

Sompting is a village and civil parish in the Adur district of West Sussex. Sompting Wikipedia

Sompting St Mary is an Ancient Parish which included Cokeham. The Church of the Blessed Virgin Sompting Wikipedia is unique in England in a Saxon tower with a four sided pyramid style Rhenish helm. The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Sompting St Mary

The Parish Church of St Mary Church Lane Sompting has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Sompting Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

St Peter the Apostle's Church, a modern brick building in the Lower Cokeham area of Sompting, is within the parish. It was consecrated in 1966 and serves as a multi-purpose church hall as well as a place of worship.

St Paulinus (Roman Catholic) see List of demolished worship places in West Sussex  This church was registered for marriages from 1941 until demolition in 1973 and Sussex Online Parish Clerks ( OPC)

See also list of places of worship in Adur Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Sompting, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Sompting, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1590-1907
1590-1873 (gaps)

IGI 1590-1908
PRTS 1546-1901
1558-1901
1558-1888

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sompting

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Sompting/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 133-139. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,148 times.