South Bersted, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

South Bersted, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aldwick
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Sutton PLU
Registration District Chichester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pagham
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BERSTED, SOUTH (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the hundred of Aldwick, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6 miles (S. E.) from Chichester. The church, erected in 1400, is a plain edifice, with a tower surmounted by a low spire of shingles; in the churchyard is the tomb of Sir Richard Hotham, Knt., founder of the town of Bognor. A chapel dedicated to St. John was erected at Bognor, and consecrated in 1822.[1]


Church history South Bersted St Mary Magdalene

The Church of St Mary Magdalen Bersted Street Bognor Regis has been designated asa grade B listed building British listed building

South Bersted Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

From this parish was formed North Bersted Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Holy Cross North Bersted

See also:

Bersted Wikipedia  List of places of worship in Arun and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 214-223. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district

Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

South Bersted, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
South Bersted, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1564-1812 1564-1876
PRTS 1564-1901
1564-1903
1564-1904

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1564-1976 Marr 1564-1989 Bur 1564-1956

Bishop's Transcripts 1610-1912
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bersted

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

Poor Law Unions

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 214-223. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,032 times.