South Caroliniana LibraryEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

South Caroliniana Library
South Caroliniana Library exterior.jpg
South Caroliniana Library interior.jpg

Contents

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  sclref@mailbox.sc.edu

Address:[1]

910 Sumter St.
University of South Carolina
Columbia, S.C. 29208

Telephone:[1]  803-777-3131  Fax:  803-777-5747

Hours:[1]  8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday; 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Saturday

Directions, maps, and public transportation:[1]

Directions: The intersection of Sumter and College Streets on the historic Horseshoe.
Maps: University map, and Google map.
Public transportation: CMRTA bus routes 3, 8, 20, and 21 stop one or two blocks from the Library.

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

This library has 75,000 books or microfilms, 1.3 million manuscripts including unpublished genealogical files documenting connections amoung South Carolina families and beyond. Important large genealogical collections: Leonardo Andrea, Bessie Lee Garvin, and Louise K. Crowder.[2] Also includes maps, letters, diaries, plantation account books, local history, churches, clubs, business records, oral histories, biography, city directories, and newspapers.

Tips

Please bring a photo I.D.[1]

Guides

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the South Caroliniana Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Similar Collections

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History federal and state census records, county probate records, county land records, family histories, cemeteries, tax records, newspapers, county equity court records, and state death certificates. Also colonial British records.
  • South Carolina Historical Society, Charleston, SC, diaries and papers, plantation, business, and church records, maps, plats, genealogies, 30,000 photos, 50,000 books, pamphlets, and serials.

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 "South Caroliniana Library" in University of South Carolina Libraries at http://library.sc.edu/socar/index.html (accessed 13 May 2011).
  2. Alice Eichholz, ed., Redbook: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 603. (FHL Book 973 D27rb). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2011, at 16:16.
  • This page has been accessed 3,505 times.