South Collingham, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to: South Collingham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Parish History

South Collingham, Nottinghamshire
Collingham St John the Baptist, Nottinghamshire.jpg
Collingham St John the Baptist, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

COLLINGHAM, SOUTH (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Newark, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 5½ miles (N. N. E.) from Newark. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

The parish of Collingham St John the Baptist was originally known as South Collingham and the extensive parish included Deanthorpe and Brough. the parish boundary forms the county boundary with the Lincolnshire parishes of Norton Disney, Lincolnshire and Stapleford, Lincolnshire

for history of the parish Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project

The church of St John the Baptist has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Collingham Wikipedia

See: Lewis,Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 663-668. here


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259

Church records

South Collingham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images



Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1558-1937 Marriages 1558-1931 Burials 1558-1905 Bishop's Transcripts 1609-1845
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Collingham, South

South Collingham.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1751, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/5 and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, page 24, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


South Collingham in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,677 times.